Pelosi Introduces Resolution Congratulating San Francisco Giants on World Series Win

Dec 14, 2010
Press Release

Contact: Brendan Daly/Nadeam Elshami/Drew Hammill, 202-226-7616

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi released the following statement today after introducing H.Res. 1760, a resolution of the House of Representatives congratulating the San Francisco Giants on their 2010 World Series Championship victory.

“The Giants’ unforgettable win in the World Series continues to be a point of pride for the entire Bay Area, and especially San Francisco. Our entire community united to root for the Giants and turned out in massive numbers celebrate their victory, including the largest parade in our City’s history. The Giants’ phenomenal team effort, superb coaching, and die-hard fans combined to transform a group of ‘castoffs and misfits’ into an inspiration for the nation.

“We must also congratulate the Texas Rangers, who competed in the first World Series appearance in their franchise’s history. They proved to be tough competitors and superb sportsmen.

“It is appropriate for the entire nation to congratulate the Giants and the Rangers for the remarkable athleticism, skill, and teamwork that they displayed on the field. We know that it takes hard work and determination to succeed in sports and in life, and I hope that our children can take away these vital lessons from the competitors who competed in the Major League playoffs.

“And one last thing: ‘Fear the Beard.’”

* * *


The bill has 18 original co-sponsors, including Representative Jackie Speier of California, whose district includes a portion of San Francisco, and Representative Joe Barton of Texas, whose district includes the Texas Rangers.

The text of the resolution follows:

Congratulating the San Francisco Giants on winning the 2010 World Series Championship.

Whereas, on November 1, 2010, the San Francisco Giants defeated the Texas Rangers by a score of 3-1 in game 5 to win the 2010 World Series and become champions of Major League Baseball;

Whereas this is the first championship the San Francisco Giants have won since the Giants came to San Francisco from New York in 1958;

Whereas this is the sixth World Series title in the history of the Giants franchise;

Whereas the Texas Rangers demonstrated great skill and sportsmanship reaching their first World Series in franchise history;

Whereas the 2010 Giants acted with determination and teamwork as they emerged victorious from the fiercely contested National League Western Division;

Whereas, during the National League playoffs, the Giants unleashed their arsenal of overpowering starting pitching, unflappable relief pitching, steady defense, and timely hitting to defeat the Atlanta Braves and the two-time defending National League champions, the Philadelphia Phillies, en route to capturing their first pennant since 2002;

Whereas, although there is no one superstar on the roster, the Giants are a group of self-described “castoffs and misfits” that truly exemplify what it means to be a team;

Whereas a Sports Illustrated article noted “Not only did the Giants give their fans a winner, they also gave them an unforgettable one, one with a Playbill's worth of characters who exuded joy and thankfulness about what was happening;”

Whereas the rest of the country learned to “fear the beard;”

Whereas all 25 players on the playoff roster should be congratulated, including World Series Most Valuable Player Edgar Renteria, as well as, Jeremy Affeldt, Madison Bumgarner, Matt Cain, Santiago Casilla, Tim Lincecum, Javier Lopez, Guillermo Mota, Ramon Ramirez, Sergio Romo, Jonathan Sanchez, Brian Wilson, Buster Posey, Eli Whiteside, Mike Fontenot, Aubrey Huff, Travis Ishikawa, Freddy Sanchez, Pablo Sandoval, Juan Uribe, Pat Burrell, Cody Ross, Aaron Rowand, Nate Schierholtz, and Andres Torres;

Whereas Managing General Partner Bill Neukom, President Larry Baer, General Manager Brian Sabean, and Manager Bruce Bochy did a tremendous job putting together the 2010 San Francisco Giants team and guiding them to the 2010 World Series;

Whereas San Francisco is a city with a rich baseball tradition where players such as Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, Orlando Cepeda, Juan Marichal, Gaylord Perry, and Joe DiMaggio have displayed the prodigious skills that would eventually take them to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York; and

Whereas the San Francisco community united in support behind their team and turned out in massive numbers to celebrate their victory in what city officials believed was the “largest parade and civic event turnout in the city’s history;”

Whereas Giants fans who have been ever loyal, supporting the team from China Basin to Coogan's Bluff, can once again call their baseball team world champions: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) congratulates the San Francisco Giants on winning the 2010 World Series Championship; and

(2) commends the fans in California, across the country, and around the world for their unremitting support of the Giants.