Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi

Larson Nominated as Top Democrat on House Administration;

Freshmen Nominated to Committees
January 29, 2003

Washington, D.C. -- House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi today nominated Congressman John Larson of Connecticut as the Ranking Democrat of the Committee on House Administration, and announced that Democratic freshmen have been nominated to key committees.

“John Larson is an exemplary Member of Congress who has demonstrated strength, character and leadership,” said Pelosi. “I look forward to continuing to work closely with him on this important committee.”

The Committee on House Administration has jurisdiction over all federal elections, including that of the President, Vice President, Senators, Representatives and Delegates. It also covers contested elections, appropriations for House committee salaries and expenses, House accounts generally, House Information Resources, employment of House staff and administrative officers.

“I look forward to the challenge and I appreciate Leader Pelosi’s confidence in my ability,” said Larson. “I look forward to working with Committee Chairman Bob Ney and carrying on the tremendous work in election reform by Steny Hoyer.”

Pelosi also appointed two veteran Members to the Committee on House Administration: Reps. Juanita Millender-McDonald of California and Robert Brady of Pennsylvania.

Also today, the Democratic Steering Committee nominated Reps. Steve Israel of New York and Rick Larsen of Washington to the Committee on Armed Services, and Reps. Adam Smith of Washington and Betty McCollum of Minnesota to the Committee on International Relations.

The Steering Committee also nominated newly-elected Democrats to key legislative committees. “This freshman class presented a dazzling array of talents, interests and expertise,” Pelosi said. “I look forward to working with them to promote the values of the Democratic Party, from stimulating our economy to educating our children.”

Reps. Rodney Alexander of Louisiana, Jim Marshall of Georgia, Jim Cooper of Tennessee, Kendrick Meek of Florida and Delegate Madeleine Bordallo of Guam will join the Armed Services Committee.

Reps. Ed Case of Hawaii, Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, Timothy Ryan of Ohio, Raul Grijalva of Arizona and Denise Majette of Georgia, will sit on the Education, Labor and the Workforce Committee.

Reps. Timothy Bishop of New York, Lincoln Davis of Tennessee and Michael Michaud of Maine will serve on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

Rep. Rahm Emanuel of Illinois, Artur Davis of Alabama, Brad Miller of North Carolina and David Scott of Georgia will serve on the Financial Services Committee.

New Members on the Agriculture Committee include Reps. Frank Ballance of North Carolina, Dennis Cardoza of California, Case, Marshall, Alexander, and Scott.

Reps. Grijalva of Arizona, Cardoza and Del. Bordallo will join the Resources Committee.

Rep. Chris Bell of Texas will represent his class on the International Relations Committee and Rep. Linda Sanchez of California will join the Judiciary Committee.

Reps. Cooper, Emanuel, Majette, Meek and Davis of Alabama will sit on the Budget Committee.

Reps. Bell, Bishop, Davis of Tennessee and Miller, will serve on the Science Committee, which oversees agencies including NASA, FEMA and the EPA.

Reps. Sanchez, Ruppersberger and Van Hollen will also sit on the Government Reform Committee, Reps. Ryan and Ballance will serve on the Small Business Committee and Rep. Michaud will serve on the Veteran’s Affairs Committee.


Current Presss Releases
2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003
2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996