Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi

Pelosi Names Democratic Members of Homeland Security Committee

February 12, 2002

Washington, D.C.-- House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi today named the 23 Democratic members of the Select Committee on Homeland Security. Two weeks ago, she announced that Congressman Jim Turner of Texas would serve as Ranking Democrat.

“House Democrats recognize the urgent need to protect the American people,” Pelosi said. “With Jim Turner as Ranking Democrat, and outstanding Members from East to West, and from Niagara Falls to the Rio Grande, the Homeland Security Committee will have the knowledge and experience necessary to help America win the war on terrorism.”

The Select Committee’s oversight of the new Department of Homeland Security will be focused on getting the new Department working effectively and quickly. The Committee has legislative jurisdiction over matters relating to the Homeland Security Act and will play a central role in fighting the war on terrorism.

In addition to Turner, the following are the Democratic Members of the Homeland Security Committee:

Bennie Thompson (MS)
Loretta Sanchez (CA)
Edward Markey (MA)
Norman Dicks (WA)
Barney Frank (MA)
Jane Harman (CA)
Benjamin Cardin (MD)
Louise Slaughter (NY)
Peter DeFazio (OR)
Nita Lowey (NY)
Robert Andrews (NJ)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Karen McCarthy (MO)
Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX)
Bill Pascrell, Jr. (NJ)
Donna Christensen (VI)
Bob Etheridge (NC)
Charles Gonzalez (TX)
Ken Lucas (KY)
James Langevin (RI)
Kendrick Meek (FL)


Current Presss Releases
2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003
2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996