From the Office of Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi

Pelosi Introduces Legislation to Authorize Coin Honoring the San Francisco Old Mint

April 30, 2004

Washington, D.C. -- House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi this week introduced the “San Francisco Old Mint Commemorative Coin Act’’ (H.R.4249) to authorize the issuance of commemorative coins in 2007 honoring the San Francisco Old Mint, the City’s oldest stone structure. This would be the first commemorative coin to honor a United States mint.

“The Old Mint is a treasured San Francisco landmark,” Pelosi said. “This legislation will honor the Old Mint’s significance to California and the history of the United States, and its vital role in rebuilding San Francisco after the 1906 earthquake and fire.”

The San Francisco Old Mint, known affectionately as the “Granite Lady,” was established by Congress in 1852 to convert miners’ gold from the California gold rush into coins. The building was designed by architect A.B. Mullett, who also designed the United States Treasury Building and the Old Executive Office Building in Washington, D.C. The solid construction enabled it to survive the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fire, making it the only financial institution that was able to operate immediately after the earthquake, serving as the treasury for disaster relief funds for the city of San Francisco.

The San Francisco Old Mint is famous for having struck many rare, legendary issues, such as the 1870-S $3 coin, which is valued today at well more than $1 million, and the 1894-S dime. Coins struck at the San Francisco Old Mint are distinguished by the “S” mint mark.

Proceeds from the issuance will support the San Francisco Museum and Historical Society’s rehabilitation of the San Francisco Old Mint. The project includes a 40,000-square foot San Francisco History Museum, a 10,000-square foot Coin and Gold Rush Museum, the City's official visitor center, a restaurant, shops, Museum offices, and an education center. The building will open in early 2007.




Current Presss Releases
2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003
2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996